Checking In

Posted on Updated on

The door creaks open letting in a sliver of light from beyond. The light is then briefly disturbed and followed by a shuffling sound as something moves  through the darkness. Opposite the door and along the path of the shuffling there is a loud thump, followed by a sharp scraping sound.

“Dammit!”

You gasp.

A sudden silence falls over the room and you know you have been heard.

Cautious footsteps echo in the darkness back towards the doorway and its small beam of light.

There is a click and light floods the room.

“Oh, hello there!  You’re still here.  That’s great!”

So yeah, I have had a lot going and coming back to to this space feels like walking into an old closed up room and finding a long lost friend there.  In a good way, not a ‘It puts the lotion in the basket’ kind of way.

“What’s been going on?”, you ask?

Well let’s see. First, I started a new job last month and that has obvious impacts on my free time for the immediate future.  I also started down the path of a Mac user at this new job which has been less than stellar fun. I am working it out but in a corporate environment with a Microsoft backend and little infrastructure in place to support Macs, the experience leaves a lot on the floor. Outside of that the kids started school in September which is its own special brand of chaos in my household. Throw in a few health issues while changing over benefits between jobs and Wa La! there goes a month or more in the blink of an eye.

So now back to writing and some updates that are more pertinent to this blog…

Since my new job involved more drive time and less time in the comforting embrace of the NY/NJ mass transit system I have started listening to Brandon Sanderson’s Write About Dragons lecture series on YouTube. Basically someone had a great idea to cast his lecture series on novel writing and the publishing industry.  It is all on YouTube and even only a few lectures in I highly recommend it. I watched an episode (?) of it earlier this year on short stories which really drove home my ideas and plans for “47 Seconds”.

SEGWAY!

(well that was subtle)

This is still happening.  I have been getting lots of communication from TANSTAAFL Press about their upcoming “Enter the Apocalypse” series.  My short story “47 Seconds” is slated for book 3: “Enter the Rebirth”.  Super excited about that as it is my first paid writing gig, outside of self published work.

In other news, I may have to make some changes to how “The Mason Chronicles” is published now that the Amazon KDP Police are giving me grief that it is available outside of Amazon.  While almost all of meager sales are from Amazon, part of me wants to remove it from KDP for a variety of reasons now that it has probably run its course.  So more to come on that when I make a decision.

That’s all for now. If you know of any other great resources that are in an audio format that I can listen to while driving hit me up in the comments!

I’ll try not to be as sparse.

Leave a Reply

