On Being Free

Posted on Updated on

HanSoloTFA.0

Han was definitely in it for the money. At least at the start.  And why not?  That worked out well for him.  But I am not here to Channel my Inner Han Solo today.

Today I am saying that I am NOT in it for the money.  Mostly because of the wonderful overlords who continue to pay me well, for what I don’t even know, in my day job.

So I am making my work free on Smashwords going forward.  That means that it should also end up being free on Smashwords distribution channels including iBooks, Kobo, Nook, and a lot more.

I can’t do this on Amazon as it’s not allowed, but if you complain to Amazon they will price match if they get enough grief.

So why go free?  Well unlike Mr. Solo, I did not start off trying to make money with my writing.  Probably helps that I don’t have a price on my head and all, so it’s really not an apples to apples comparison.  I wanted to get back to writing, which I have done for most of life, including a handwritten book scribbled on loose leaf that came in around 300 pages that I wrote in 7th grade.  From there I wanted to share what I was doing with some of my knuckleheaded friends and then well, why not include the rest of the human race (at least those with internet access and an e reader)?

So there it is, Contact and Connect are now as free as I can make them.  If you want a copy and can’t figure out Smashwords feel free to leave me an note in the comments and I will work it out with you.

One thought on “On Being Free

    […]  Mainly because we are not talking about large sums of money here.  I have said it before but I ain’t in it for the money.  While KDP Select may lower the ceiling of $$$ I could earn on the book, it opens up a lot of […]

Leave a Reply

